Contact Us

Faculty
Faculty in the Department of African and African American Studies

Emmanuel K. Akyeampong

Professor of History and Professor of African and African American Studies
(on leave fall term)
CGIS S433
(617) 496-3684
akyeamp@fas.harvard.edu
more about Emmanuel K. Akyeampong
Ali S. Asani

Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures; Chair of the Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations; Asssociate of Lowell House
Director of the Prince Alwaleed bin Talal Islamic Studies Program (on leave fall term)
Barker Center 305
(617) 495-5755
aliasani@fas.harvard.edu
more about Ali S. Asani
Robert H. Bates

Eaton Professor of the Science of Government and Professor of African and African American Studies
CGIS K213
(617) 496-0919
robert.bates.harvard.edu@gmail.com
more about Robert H. Bates
Robin Bernstein

Professor of African and African American Studies and of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Boylston G31
(617) 495-9634
rbernst@fas.harvard.edu
more about Robin Bernstein
Homi K. Bhabha

Anne F. Rothenberg Professor of the Humanities
Director of the Humanities Center at Harvard
Barker Center 134
(617) 495-0739
hbhabha@fas.harvard.edu
more about Homi K. Bhabha
Suzanne P. Blier

Allen Whitehill Clowes Professor of Fine Arts and Professor of African and African American Studies
(on leave 2013-2014)
Sackler Museum
(617) 495-0781
blier@fas.harvard.edu
more about Suzanne P. Blier
Lawrence D. Bobo

W.E.B. Du Bois Professor of the Social Sciences and Professor of African and African American Studies
Chair of the Department of African and African American Studies
Barker Center 255
(617) 496-4123
bobo@wjh.harvard.edu
more about Lawrence D. Bobo
Vincent Brown

Charles Warren Professor of History and Professor of African and African American Studies
CGIS South 430
(617) 496-6155
brown8@fas.harvard.edu
more about Vincent Brown
Glenda R. Carpio

Professor of English and of African and African American Studies
Barker Center
(617) 495-7868
carpio@fas.harvard.edu
more about Glenda R. Carpio
Jean Comaroff

Alfred North Whitehead Professor of African and African American Studies and of Anthropology, Oppenheimer Fellow in African Studies
Barker Center
(617) 496-2519
jeancomaroff@fas.harvard.edu
more about Jean Comaroff
John Comaroff

Hugh K. Foster Professor of African and African American Studies and of Anthropology, Oppenheimer Fellow in African Studies
Barker Center
(617) 496-2658
jcomaroff@fas.harvard.edu
more about John Comaroff
Boubacar Diakite

Preceptor of the African Language Program
Barker Center 231A
(617) 496-0864
bdiakite@fas.harvard.edu
more about Boubacar Diakite
Caroline Elkins

Professor of History and Professor of African and African American Studies
Chair on The Standing Committee on African Studies; Chair of the Standing Committee on Ethnic Studies
CGIS - South 432
(617) 495-2568
elkins@fas.harvard.edu
more about Caroline Elkins
Marla F. Frederick

Professor of African and African American Studies and of Religion
Director of Graduate Studies; Chair of the Committee on the Study of Religion 2011-2012
Barker Center
(617) 496-8551
frederic@fas.harvard.edu
more about Marla F. Frederick
Alejandro de la Fuente

Robert Woods Bliss Professor of Latin American History and Economics; Professor of African and African American Studies and of History
Director, Afro-Latin American Research Institute, Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University (on leave 2013-14)
104 Mt. Auburn St, 3R
(617) 496-0681
delafuente@fas.harvard.edu
more about Alejandro de la Fuente
Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Alphonse Fletcher, Jr. University Professor
Director of the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research
Du Bois 3R
(617) 496-5468
gates@harvard.edu
more about Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Claudine Gay

Professor of Government and of African and African American Studies
(on leave 2013-2014)
CGIS Knafel 431
(617) 496-5470
cgay@gov.harvard.edu
more about Claudine Gay
Evelynn M. Hammonds

Barbara Gutmann Rosenkrantz Professor of the History of Science and Professor of African and African American Studies
(on leave 2013-2014)
University Hall 119
(617) 495-1560
hcdean@fas.harvard.edu
more about Evelynn M. Hammonds
Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham

Victor S. Thomas Professor of History and of African and African American Studies
(on leave 2013-2014)
Barker Center
(617) 495-7828
ebhiggin@fas.harvard.edu
more about Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham
Jennifer L. Hochschild

Henry LaBarre Jayne Professor of Government and Professor of African and African American Studies
Member of the Faculty of Education; Harvard College Professor; Member of the Faculty at the John F. Kennedy School of Government (on leave 2013-2014)
CGIS, N-412
(617) 496-0181
hochschild@gov.harvard.edu
more about Jennifer L. Hochschild
Biodun Jeyifo

Professor of African and African American Studies and of Comparative Literature
Barker Center 258
(617) 384-9418
bjeyifo@fas.harvard.edu
more about Biodun Jeyifo
Walter Johnson

Winthrop Professor of History and Professor of African and African American Studies
CGIS S420
(617) 495-4527
johnson2@fas.harvard.edu
more about Walter Johnson
Jamaica Kincaid

Professor of African and African American Studies
Barker Center
(617) 496-8543
jkincaid@fas.harvard.edu
more about Jamaica Kincaid
Michael R. Kremer

Gates Professor of Developing Societies
Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution; Member of Faculty Kennedy School of Government (on leave 2013-2014)
Littauer Center 207
(617) 495-9145
mkremer@fas.harvard.edu
more about Michael R. Kremer
Michèle Lamont

Robert I. Goldman Professor of European Studies, Professor of Sociology, and Professor of African and African American Studies
510 William James Hall
(617) 496-0645
mlamont@wjh.harvard.edu
more about Michèle Lamont
Achille Mbembe

Visiting Professor of African and African American Studies
Barker Center
(617) 495-4113
achillembembe@fas.harvard.edu
more about Achille Mbembe
Ingrid Monson

Quincy Jones Professor of African-American Music, supported by the Time Warner Endowment, and Professor of African and African American Studies
Director of Undergraduate Studies; Mather House SCR Associate Member
Music Building 202S
(617) 495-2791
imonson@fas.harvard.edu
more about Ingrid Monson
Marcyliena Morgan

Professor of African and African American Studies
Executive Director of the HipHop Archive
Barker Center 243
(617) 496-0352
mmorgan@fas.harvard.edu
more about Marcyliena Morgan
John M. Mugane

Professor of the Practice of African Languages and Cultures and Director of the African Language Program
Barker Center 244
(617) 496-4995
mugane@fas.harvard.edu
more about John M. Mugane
Jacob Olupona

Professor of African and African American Studies and Professor of African Religious Traditions
Barker Center 249
(617) 496-0354
olupona@fas.harvard.edu
more about Jacob Olupona
Laurence Ralph

Assistant Professor of African and African American Studies and Assistant Professor of Anthropology
(on leave 2012-13)
Barker Center 241
(617) 496-2113
lralph@fas.harvard.edu
more about Laurence Ralph
Tommie Shelby

Professor of African and African American Studies and of Philosophy
(on leave 2013-2014)
Barker Center
(617) 496-8546
tshelby@fas.harvard.edu
more about Tommie Shelby
Kay Kaufman Shelemay

G. Gordon Watts Professor of Music and Professor of African and African American Studies
Mather House SCR Associate Member
Music Building 6
(617) 495-4008
shelemay@fas.harvard.edu
more about Kay Kaufman Shelemay
James Sidanius

Professor of Psychology and of African and African American Studies
960 William James Hall
(617) 495-3804
sidanius@wjh.harvard.edu
more about James Sidanius
Werner Sollors

Henry B. and Anne M. Cabot Professor of English Literature and Professor of African and African American Studies
Associate of Mather House (on leave spring term)
Barker Center 240
(617) 495-4146
sollors@fas.harvard.edu
more about Werner Sollors
Doris Sommer

Ira Jewell Williams, Jr., Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and of African and African American Studies
Director of the Cultural Agents Initiative at Harvard University (on leave spring term)
Boylston Hall 417
(617) 495-5273
dsommer@fas.harvard.edu
more about Doris Sommer
John Stauffer

Professor of English and of African and African American Studies
Chair of the History of American Civilization Program
Barker Center 267
(617) 495-8440
stauffer@fas.harvard.edu
more about John Stauffer
David R. Williams

Florence Sprague Norman and Laura Smart Norman Professor of Public Health in the School of Public Health and Professor of African and African American Studies in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Kresge Building 615
(617) 432-6807
dwilliam@hsph.harvard.edu
more about David R. Williams
William Julius Wilson

Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor
Taubman-406
(617) 496-4514
bill_wilson@harvard.edu
more about William Julius Wilson

Affiliated Faculty
Affiliated Faculty in the Department of African and African American Studies

Aisha M. Beliso-De Jesús

Assistant Professor of African American Religions
Divinity Hall 409
(617) 384-9028
abelisodejesus@hds.harvard.edu
more about Aisha M. Beliso-De Jesús

Lecturers
Lecturers in the Department of African and African American Studies

Joanna Lipper

Lecturer on African and African American Studies
Barker Center
(617) 384-8349
jlipper@fas.harvard.edu
more about Joanna Lipper
Patrick Vinck

Lecturer on African and African American Studies
Visiting Scientist, Department of Global Health and Population
Harvard Humanitarian Initiative, 14 Story Street
(617) 495-4113
pvinck@hsph.harvard.edu
more about Patrick Vinck

College Fellows
College Fellows in the Department of African and African American Studies

Kellie Carter Jackson

College Fellow of African and African American Studies
Barker Center 233
(617) 495-9261
kjackson@fas.harvard.edu
more about Kellie Carter Jackson
Carla Martin

College Fellow of African and African American Studies
Barker Center 259
(617) 495-4113
cdmartin@post.harvard.edu
more about Carla Martin